different gospels, different christs

30 August, 2005 at 11:21 am Leave a comment

One of the most disturbing lessons I had to learn was that there is no one Gospel that is preached and believed by all Christians. Nor is there just one Jesus. There are all sorts of Jesuses – competing Christs. Christs in opposition to one another. I learned that in the South African context. I see it most clearly today in the conflict in Israel/Palestine. My son is out there at the moment (returning imminently) and has had the same shock I had when making this same discovery. I reflect on that in my article for the Carver Calendar this month, entitled When gospels collide.

Entry filed under: christology.

so why aren’t we all on skype? disclosing new worlds

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Time to move …

... to my own hosted site on http://mustardseeds.wolsblog.com. See you there.

Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

blog stats

  • 8,289 hits

